FBFN Foundation
About Us

In 1981, Sugar Land, Texas was in a growth era. Families continued to swarm to the area from the south, north, mid-west and west! Master-planned communities had been developed and were expanding! To welcome the new families and homeowners, a Welcome Wagon hostess delivered baskets of gifts supplied by local businesses. Over a cup of coffee, the hostesses would tell new residents about local civic and cultural activities in the community and handing out gifts and coupons from local businesses.

While the Welcome Wagon hostess remained to greet newcomers to the community, the new residents joined together to share fellowship and common interest. In accordance with the rules of Welcome Wagon International, a “newcomer” had to leave membership after two years of residence within the community. Also, Welcome Wagon International limited the areas within Fort Bend County as to who could join and participate in the social activities.

During 1988-1989, members of Welcome Wagon Sugar Land voted that they preferred not to have the restrictions imposed by Welcome Wagon International, those being two-years of residency, limitations of where you lived, and that speakers were only Welcome Wagon business supporters. The ladies then decided to restructure their club creating an atmosphere of friendship and opportunities for “old and new” residents to become acquainted with one another in the community. These ladies pondered for a while over a new name in which to call themselves. One day, President Ann Hayden, told her husband about her and her friends dilemma. Understanding the commitment and friendship that these ladies held, J.C. Hayden said to his wife, “Ann, all of you are friends and neighbors, why not call yourselves that?” Thus, Fort Bend Friends and Neighbors (FBFN) was formed!

As the Club entered the new millennium, its leadership realized that it had grown far beyond a simple welcoming group and social group, in terms of membership count, annual receipts, and in organizational purpose. It was time to give back to the community. The Club began holding small fundraisers and identifying young For Bend County students that needed financial assistance to attend local colleges. Over the next twelve years, the Club organized and executed a successful program to award college scholarships to deserving students who would otherwise not be able to attend a school of higher education. During this time, the Club distributed over $76,000 to 55 students to assist in their college tuition needs.

In 2012, Club leadership once again realized that its size, community image and involvement had grown significantly, and it was now time to properly organize the Club for future growth. The Club engaged outside assistance to review its past growth, explore an approach to more fully document and improve the position of the Club within the community, and finally to recommend a structure that would position the Club as a more business-minded organization. The end result of this project was the formalization of the Club into two not-for-profit corporations; once which comprises the 501(c)7 social function and one which comprises the 501(c)3 charitable fundraising and scholarship function. New and expanded by-laws and standardized business policies now govern both organizations; each entity shares common membership and enjoys the pride of not only developing last friendships and social fellowship, but in giving generously back to the community through the scholarship awards program.

This new structure has allowed the newly formed FBFN Foundation to expand its fundraising activities and to promote an organization to which corporations and individuals can donate tax deductible gifts. The Foundation can now openly solicit community support through the use of tax deductible giving. In addition, the operations of the social club and the Foundation now have a formalized business structure that is suitable for their functions and activities, and that are properly documented with local and state governments and the Internal Revenue Service.

Today, Fort Bend Friends and Neighbors has approximately 375+ members from the eastern, western, northern and southern areas of Fort Bend County! The cities, towns, and villages that comprise Fort Bend County are: Arcola, Beasley, Fairchilds, Fulshear, Houston (mostly in Harris County), Katy*, Meadows Place, Missouri City (majority in Fort Bend), Needville, Orchard, Pleak, Richmond, Rosenberg, Simonton, Stafford, Sugar Land, Thompsons, and Weston Lakes. Other unincorporated areas of Fort Bend County are census-designated areas: Cinco Ranch, Cumings, Fifth Street, Four Corners, Fresno, Greatwood, Mission Bend, New Territory, Pecan Grove, and Sienna Plantation. Other unincorporated areas of Fort Bend County are: Booth, Crabb, Clodine, Foster, Guy, Juliff, Long Point, Pittsville, Powell Point, and Tavener.

Fort Bend Friends and Neighbors include many long-standing members and many long-time Fort Bend County residents; and newcomers continue to arrive daily who are just looking for a new friend!

*Katy is incorporated in Harris County, with portions in Fort Bend County and Waller County.

Several cities in our area have provided "30th Anniversay Proclamations" in honor of Fort Bend Friends and Neighbors. Below are the proclamations:
Fort Bend County, Missouri City, Richmond, Rosenberg, and Sugar Land.


You are not a stranger...

Just a friend we have not met yet!


2015-2016 Executive Board
President - Alice Anderson 3rd VP Membership - Shirley Panetti
President-Elect - Cherie Young Secretary - Theresa Bryant
1st VP Luncheons - Gloria Mikulenka Treasurer - Pam Wheeler
2nd VP Coffees -  Pam Fite Past President - Rhonda Lowery


Sally Hart 1981-1982 Margaret Alton 1997-1998
Lynn McKillop 1982-1983 Mimi Skelton 1998-1999
Paula Frey 1983-1984 Mary Jones 1999-2000
Celia Olson 1984-1985 Kris Barrington 2000-2001
Sharon Rollins 1985-1986 Elizabeth Kay 2001-2002
Len Bunting 1986-1987 Margaret Harrington 2002-2003
Nancy Gregory 1987-1988 Marsha Sachs 2003-2004
Ann Hayden 1988-1989 Lee Scott 2004-2005
Carol Bell 1989-1990 Sharon Forlano 2005-2006
Carolyn Neely 1990-1991 Jeanette Elliff 2006-2007
Liz Miller 1991-1992 Paula O’Rosky 2007-2008
Joan Castleberry 1992-1993 Peggy Wood 2008-2009
Judy Ferraz 1993-1994 Sandra Boyd 2009-2010
Patricia McNeal 1994-1995 Gail Grace 2010-2011
Marla Schoonmaker 1995-1996 Paula Ruskan 2011-2012
Debbie Gault 1996-1997 Nancy Frank 2012-2014
Marsha Sachs 2014-2015